Love the Life You Lead Fall 2015. Day THREE: Melinda Abrams

Love the Life You Lead. Fall 2015. Day THREE
Melinda Abrams
Badass Gratitude. What’s your Bad-Ass?
Each year about this time I visit my favorite art show. Each year I look for one piece that moves me. …that’s the one piece I buy and bring home. I love surrounding myself with beauty. I love my home and work spaces to be filled with visual reminders of what speaks to my heart and soul: creativity, boldness, growth, learning, joy, childhood innocence, family, love, and movement.
Sometimes I’m drawn to the color in the pottery, or the elegance in the jewelry, or the exquisiteness of the design. Sometimes there’s a written or verbal message infused into the artwork. Sometimes I have no words to describe my attraction, but I know for sure that I find the work compelling and it piques my fancy. Last year I was drawn to the work of a fabric artist. My initial attraction was to the bold geometric shapes. As I got closer, I was intrigued by the layering of textures….and I was drawn to this one pair of black and grey pants. The design was simple. Down one leg was a series of different sized circles. As I looked and touched, the artist let me know that the circles were morse code, and that each piece of clothing had a message. Hot damn I was totally hooked! Morse code! On Pants, Jackets, Shirts….simple bold designs with a message. Then she told me what the message on the pants said and I knew I had to have them. BADASS. As soon as I put those Badass pants on I felt myself release a little bit into my own swagger. I felt a little more sexy and a little more bold. And, of course I had to the buy them.
I love when someone compliments me on the pants I am wearing and I lean in closer and say, “Thanks, and you know what they say?” That’s when I get real close and whisper, “BADASS”. The impact is immediate. Intrigue, and a connection that’s a little more than it was just a minute before.
Fast forward 9 months, and my friend who is undergoing chemo sends me this photo of her bald self with an exquisite henna tattoo all over her head. My response…”You are BADASS BEAUTIFUL”. While she was initially hesitant to share this photo of herself in this incredibly vulnerable and life changing time, she was moved by the acknowledgement. She got it that she is strong. She is more than her hair or her disease. She is thriving in the midst of incredible discomfort and challenge. She is the embodiment of Badass, and she is beautiful.
Fast forward to last month. I felt compelled to create and paint a series of silk scarves with “Badass Beautiful” and “hope” written on them. The first set were painted with bold reds. I have to tell you even painting them felt so satisfyingly GOOD. I’ve painted lots of messages on silk scarves. I always choose a message that moves me. I write prayers or quotes that speak to my heart and soul. Painting Badass Beautiful took me to a whole other level. It seems to speak to a lot of women too because I’ve sold 6 of them in two weeks, and gotten requests for more in other colors.
I’m sure that BadAss means different things to different people. Some of you might get an image of a tough tattooed girl, or a cussing in your face chick. That’s not what BadAss means to me.
I define BadAss as the swagger one feels when they release into themselves—ALL of one’s self. While it’s an incredibly bold and brave way to be, it’s also a little bit vulnerable, definitely intriguing, very sexy, and completely freeing. It’s “thrive no matter what baby!” because your badass self in all her beauty cannot be held back.
So on this day before American Thanksgiving my BadAss self has an invitation for your BadAss self.
Show some BadAss gratitude baby. Not fancy pants gratitude. Not refined held small gratitude.
BOLD. SEXY. LOVING. Not the way you usually do it gratitude….but this year, BadAss Gratitude. I expect you to get so connected to the abundance in your life that you are compelled to move into action. Your BadAss gratitude will not be contained. You will express it. It will move others…that’s what BadAss does…without even trying.
I’d really love to see or hear what emerges for you. Share it here.
Melinda
img_8971

About melindarabrams

Melinda Abrams, CPCC, MSA is a champion of the shared experience. She consistently moves individuals and groups to deeper levels of connection and support, and models ‘being moved’ by what is present in the space. She believes that in this creative combustion, capacity expands ….simply, naturally, magnificently. In addition to coaching corporate executives, Melinda takes great pleasure collecting and sharing messages about Loving the Life you Lead on facebook and her blog Moving Leaders. She loves coaching, delivering experiential programs at outdoor education centers, teaching teleclasses, holding weekend retreats, and guiding leaders to MOVE. Melinda brings over 20 years of teaching and leadership development to Moving Leaders. Her work spans experiences with youth, corporate clients, and both business and medical graduate students at Duke, University of North Carolina, North Carolina State and Wake Forest Universities. Her commitment is to serve emerging leaders as they move towards shared enthusiastic leadership. And YES! Melinda is also an artist. She creates unique handpainted scarves. In my art, my coaching, and my spiritual practice I consistently return to wonder and awe. As I turn to wonder and create from there I experience a profound connection with source. This movement brings me to this latest series of scarves. I love the idea of wrapping oneself in an idea–an intention– a possibility, and creating beauty with that intention. My hope is that when one chooses this scarf to wear, they turn from disconnected bland to soulful brilliant. Of course when the scarf is open and hung you can read the message, yet when it is draped and worn, the message is simply seen as a design. My promise is that the wearer is reminded to turn towards the message and that the message is shared through the wearers actions and interactions with others. Melinda Abrams Melinda loves living in Chapel Hill, NC with her husband and three children. http://www.lifepowercoaching.com http://www.movingleaders.wordpress.com melinda.abrams@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

